My World Cup Dressage Diary – 5th April

I have had a few enquiries into the type and number of rugs Jaybee Alabaster is wearing and also the type of feed he is having over here and whether the feed differs much from what Alabaster was getting in Australia. So hopefully the following will answer some of these questions as it is a really interesting couple of topics.

The weather has warmed up a lot since Jaybee Alabaster arrived in Germany. At the moment he has a cotton, a woollen and a medium size doona stable rug during the day. At night he is wearing a cotton, a woollen and a very large, thick but light weight stable doona with a bellie band. Alabaster is also kept under lights until 9pm each night. We were trying to prevent him growing a coat as we didn’t want to clip him close to the World Cup Final. We have had many comments on how amazing his coat looks. I don’t believe he has grown an extra hair since he arrived. He does look amazing! I had no problem finding very good rugs at Horseland in Australia to do the job here.  When I ride Alabaster (only indoors at the moment), I have a ¾ exercise woollen rug that I keep on him during the warm-up and cool down. Truth be known, it keeps my legs warm as well! This helps the muscles warm up and cool down at a reasonable rate and not too quickly which may cause damage. It is very simple and easy to do.

The feeding of Jaybee Alabaster has not been a problem in Europe. I feed low protein and high roughage. In Australia I also feed chaff, as do most of us. Chaff is really difficult to find in Europe but not impossible. The feed I use in Australia is from HorsePower, Sweetfeed No.4. This feed is awesome and very easy to find a replacement for in Europe. He gets 1 scoop of the grain mix morning and night and 1 scoop of the Mash at lunchtime. As much grass hay as he can eat and at lunch a little sileage hay. He loves it as this type of hay is sweet. The Lucerne chaff is given morning and night as each roughage to help wash down the grain mix. Alabaster loves his Lucerne. Of course there is the compulsory carrots. No shortage of these in Europe. Overall, I am conscious of the feed I use in Australia with my top horses as I am ever hopeful that one day they may make a trip to Europe. HorsePower have provided me with a feed that makes the changeover extremely easy when in Europe.

I hope this answers some of the questions out there. Please send a reply if you would like more information on these topics.

 Rachael

Leave a Reply

