My World Cup Dressage Diary – 11th April

First lesson with Patrik today.  It is amazing how far we progressed today.  We were especially pleased with the transitions and Jaybee Alabaster was clearly enjoying it too.

It also leads on to the question: “How do I remain true to my riding style when I am in another country and being exposed to new styles and riding techniques.

It is easy to get carried away with what is happening all around me over here.  I have to remember that I have got this far with the way I ride, but also have an open mind to learn.

Under times of pressure a rider will usually fall back to “what they know now”, not what they have just learnt.  A horse also takes time to adjust to new ways whether they are small changes or larger changes.  Some changes can work straight away and some take months to cement.  I believe every rider has their own “style”, but great riders never stop wanting learn.

What I learn now, I may not be able or ready to implement into my own riding style until time allows or until I get back home.  However, dressage is the continual search for perfection, so I believe an open mind and ability to learn will hold me in good stead. Patrik is a great teacher and also understands this.

Rachael

4 thoughts on “My World Cup Dressage Diary – 11th April

  1. Hi Rachael – Firstly, congratulations on being able to represent Australia and I wish you well. I am really enjoying your daily feeds. You both look fantastic, keep up the GOOD work.

    I do the newsletter or our little Adult Riding Club in Broadford (vic) and wondered if you would mind if I take snippets from you daily report to put an article together for our May edition. In relation to questions, how are you coping being away from home for so long? Did your mum and children come with you? Stay well and happy and enjoy the riding……

    • Hi Carol! Thanks so much for your support. No problem at all using whatever you want from my blog. I am very happy to share it with you. Best wishes to you and the club. Would love to see the May edition of the newsletter.
      Rachael

Leave a Reply

