My World Cup Dressage Diary – 18th April (Part 2)

As I wrote in the first episode today I was going to ride Jaybee Alabaster at 9.30am.  Well I did with some painful consequences!  Imagine this: extended canter about to flying change, 1 hare and 2 very fast dogs all going head-on in the arena. I didn’t see it coming and neither did Alabaster. Poor thing got the fright of his life and YES guess where I ended up. In 3 seconds all over. Not too badly hurt tho. Still able to ride, but not sure about running in trot-up with very painful knee. Patrik to the rescue. YEAH!  The most important thing tho, is I didn’t break Clemens headset!  You know how very protective he is of his headset!  Broken bones OK but not broken headset! 

Quite funny in hindsight as I’ve been wondering what it would feel like if I came off after over 10 years of no falls.  Just shows: “Be careful what you think about…..”

After all that first up, today went well with our arrival in s’Hertogenbosch. The venue is awesome and hopefully tomorrow some pics of around the main arena and behind the scenes stable area. Thankyou to Equestrian Australia who did a great job organising the hotel, stabling and accreditation. Alabaster had a very short ride late this afternoon to give him a quiet leg stretch and let him see the venue little and also to check how my knee was to ride.  After my fall, I got back on at home, but then drove for 2 1/2 hours in the car and it was really painful. All ok when I ride, but hell to walk on. Hopefully after a rest and icing tonight I will be brand new in the morning. Horse Inspection (Trot Up) at 7.00am in the morning (Thursday 19th) and then arena familarisation for the main arena 7.00am-9.30am. Maybe after that we can fit breakfast in and a quick look into the shopping areas and the CDI4* starts around 10.00am. Hoping to catch up with Bev, Jaybee Alabaster’s owner tomorrow. Action filled day and there are alot of Aussie’s at this show. Will be great to catch up with them all.

Rachael

Leave a Reply

